What You Should Know Before Getting Faux Locs

Faux Locs are a stunning protective hairstyle meant to resemble real locs or dreadlocks. This style is often created using human hair or synthetic braiding hair such as Marley hair or Kanekalon hair. The hair is wrapped tightly around braids or twists in a downward motion to resemble real locs. Keep in mind that the type of hair/material used will affect the texture and appearance of your faux locs.

I recently got faux locs and they are amazing! I knew exactly how I wanted them to look and used these photos I found online as a reference.

I got my lovely generous beautiful cousin to do them for me with a triangle parting and all the way down to my waist. While they are beautiful and long, there are definitely a few things that I wish I knew before I got them. Now I am going to let you know the 411 on getting faux locs and what you should know before getting faux locs.

More Hair

IMG-20190730-WA0000

Let’s start off with hair because that is the most important thing you will need if you learnt anything from this please remember to buy more hair than you think you need. I knew it would need a lot of hair so during my lunch break I found a hair shop and purchased £20.85 worth of hair, consisting of 3 packs of Xpressions hair, 1 pack of Marley hair and 1 jumbo (3in1) pack of Marley hair. This was not enough and while having my hair done I had to go back to the hair shop, not once, but TWICE! Each pack of Marley hair separated into about 20 strands of hair, each braid required two strands of Marley hair so each pack of Marley hair made around 10 locs. If I could go back in time, I would have brought 2 jumbo packs and 1 additional pack of Marley hair, just to be on the safe side.

Time

This was without a doubt, the most time-consuming process of my life. If there is anything you should know before getting faux locs, it is to make sure you have absolutely zero plans for the next day. My cousin and I started at 11.30am on Thursday stopped at 11pm on Thursday, resumed at 7am on Friday and was completely finished at 3pm on Friday. While we did have some short breaks, order pizza and watch a billion shows and movies, I really wasn’t expecting it to take the best part of two days. Make sure you keep your days free and have some entertainment and snacks ready.

Scalp

20190608_202148

After my hair was done, I felt fine, in fact, I felt great, my hair was really heavy and my neck ached a little, but overall I loved my hair and my cousin hadn’t done it too tight at all. That all changed the next morning I woke up. It was so itchy. I hardly wear styles like braids so this was absolutely new to me and I had no idea what to do. I was also working away residentially, so all I had to soothe my scalp was my Golden Hair Oil and my rat tail metal comb. I applied the hair oil the partings of my hair locs and itched ferociously with my comb. With the hair being so heavy, the weight was pulling down on my hair making my scalp itch like crazy so I tried to wear my heavy hair up as much as possible. Before getting faux locs make sure you keep some soothing oils like lavender and argan oil on hand and try and keep your hair up as much as possible.

Washing

vid_21090301_172610_166_1

Washing your hair with locs can seem extremely daunting but this for me has been the only thing that has been a breeze. Washing your hair with water, shampoo and conditioner can make your hair extremely heavy and can make it difficult to dry because it’s not just your hair, its also the braids and the Marley hair. Instead, I use my That Good Hair No-Rinse Foam Shampoo to cleanse my scalp. My formula had additional keratin and tea-tree extract to strengthen and clarify my scalp. I cleanse my hair with this product every 2 days and has helped with keeping my hair fresh and neat. After washing, I look for any stray or unravelling ends to re-twist and burn with a lighter.

Accessories

airbrush_20190801201702

Before getting faux locs you should know that your hairbands will no longer fit around your hair and nor will your bonnet so its time to find some alternatives. For a bonnet instead, try a pillowcase. My locs are waist length so to relieve the heaviness and to keep the style neat for as long as possible, I put all my hair in a satin pillowcase and tie it at the top of my head. This works wonders, especially during the first few days when your hair is tight and itchy. In terms of hairbands, I now use headscarves instead and wrap it around my hair tying it together into a pretty bow.

These are all of the things I think you should know before getting faux locs. I honestly love my hair and how incredible it looks and will happily get this protective style again. Let me know how you look after your locs and what you think people should know before getting faux locs.

If you have any specific struggles or concerns with your hair, don’t hesitate to comment below, submit a hair analysis form or just send me a message.

Instagram – @thatgoodhaircompany
Blog – thatgoodhair.co.uk
Twitter – @ thatgoodhair1
Facebook – @Thatgoodhair
Pinterest – That Good Hair

– Paris x

Processing…
Woohoo! You're part of the club.

Leave a comment